Early Years Foundation Stage

The EYFS Statutory Framework sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and’ (DfE, 2014).

Our nursery reflects the four overarching principles of the framework: 


Providing learning and development 

Children start to learn about the world around them from the moment they are born. The care and education offered by the nursery helps the children to continue their learning by providing all the children with interesting activities that are appropriate for their age and stage of development. 

The areas of development and Learning comprise of the: 

Prime Areas:
•  Personal, Social and Emotional Development
•  Physical Development
•  Communication and Language  

The prime areas begin to develop quickly in response to relationships and experiences, and run through and support learning in all other areas. The prime areas continue to be fundamental throughout the EYFS  

Specific Areas:
•  Literacy
•  Mathematics
•  Understanding the World
•  Expressive Arts and Design 

The specific areas include essential skills and knowledge. They grow out of the prime areas, and provide important contexts for learning.